<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: A privacy breach at eMusic?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://chrisgagne.com/3/a-likely-privacy-breach-at-emusic/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://chrisgagne.com/3/a-likely-privacy-breach-at-emusic/</link>
	<description>service, creativity, leadership</description>
	<pubDate>Sat, 22 Nov 2008 02:19:41 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6.3</generator>
		<item>
		<title>By: Nawak</title>
		<link>http://chrisgagne.com/3/a-likely-privacy-breach-at-emusic/#comment-20434</link>
		<dc:creator>Nawak</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 03 Sep 2008 19:43:13 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.chrisgagne.com/?p=3#comment-20434</guid>
		<description>I just started receiving spam on my emusic-only e-mail account.
I don't think it's a security breach, or it's been going on for more than two years??
I think they just sell e-mails to get some money. It's to be expected from a company whose revenue model seems quite fragile.
Anyway, time to update the virtual user table.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I just started receiving spam on my emusic-only e-mail account.<br />
I don&#8217;t think it&#8217;s a security breach, or it&#8217;s been going on for more than two years??<br />
I think they just sell e-mails to get some money. It&#8217;s to be expected from a company whose revenue model seems quite fragile.<br />
Anyway, time to update the virtual user table.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Troy</title>
		<link>http://chrisgagne.com/3/a-likely-privacy-breach-at-emusic/#comment-13604</link>
		<dc:creator>Troy</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 22 Apr 2008 09:02:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.chrisgagne.com/?p=3#comment-13604</guid>
		<description>I found this old blog post of after searching for other people who've gotten spam at their emusic-only address.  I wanted to find out if there was indeed a pattern... Interestingly, my first UCE just showed up today (more 419 crapola) though I've been with emusic for a couple of years now.

I don't really want lossy 160kbps tunage anyway.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I found this old blog post of after searching for other people who&#8217;ve gotten spam at their emusic-only address.  I wanted to find out if there was indeed a pattern&#8230; Interestingly, my first UCE just showed up today (more 419 crapola) though I&#8217;ve been with emusic for a couple of years now.</p>
<p>I don&#8217;t really want lossy 160kbps tunage anyway.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Nick</title>
		<link>http://chrisgagne.com/3/a-likely-privacy-breach-at-emusic/#comment-2742</link>
		<dc:creator>Nick</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 23 Jun 2007 23:02:34 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.chrisgagne.com/?p=3#comment-2742</guid>
		<description>I get spam all the time to an address that only emusic have ever been given. Like Nick Askew, I find it's mostly advance fee fraud ("419") spam. Emusic has clearly had a security breach. No reply from them when I reported the problem though, except for a request for a copy of some of the emails; then silence. Perhaps they'd claim as other hacked companies have done, that it could be a dictionary attack. I know I haven't ever been subjected to a dictionary attack: no-one has ever tried to deliver an email to an address I haven't given out.

I've about six companies leak unique email addresses to spammers, but emusic is much the biggest of these companies. We need laws to require companies to come clean when they let our personal information be stolen.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I get spam all the time to an address that only emusic have ever been given. Like Nick Askew, I find it&#8217;s mostly advance fee fraud (&#8221;419&#8243;) spam. Emusic has clearly had a security breach. No reply from them when I reported the problem though, except for a request for a copy of some of the emails; then silence. Perhaps they&#8217;d claim as other hacked companies have done, that it could be a dictionary attack. I know I haven&#8217;t ever been subjected to a dictionary attack: no-one has ever tried to deliver an email to an address I haven&#8217;t given out.</p>
<p>I&#8217;ve about six companies leak unique email addresses to spammers, but emusic is much the biggest of these companies. We need laws to require companies to come clean when they let our personal information be stolen.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Nick Askew</title>
		<link>http://chrisgagne.com/3/a-likely-privacy-breach-at-emusic/#comment-36</link>
		<dc:creator>Nick Askew</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 28 Feb 2007 13:17:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.chrisgagne.com/?p=3#comment-36</guid>
		<description>I too received several emails from 'Michael Matson' addressed to the unique email address I used to sign up to eMusic, never used anywhere else.. it can only have been distributed (my email address that is, not the spam) by eMusic.com

Today I received one from Karen Peterson, telling me to contact an agent who has US$1.5M waiting for me.. again to the email address I soley used to subscribe to eMusic dot com.

I wrote a letter of complaint to them after I received the first email from Michael Matson on the 26/11/2006, and received no reply.  I received three further emails from 'Michael Matson' on 01/12/2006, 08/12/2006 and 11/12/2006.

I dislike companies that do not appreciate the concept of data protection, I dislike companies even more for ignoring complaints and trying to 'sweep it under the carpet'.  I would be very interested to locate more people suffering Michael Matson syndrome so we can put our heads together to give eMusic the rude awakening they obviously deserve.

Sincerely

Nick Askew</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I too received several emails from &#8216;Michael Matson&#8217; addressed to the unique email address I used to sign up to eMusic, never used anywhere else.. it can only have been distributed (my email address that is, not the spam) by eMusic.com</p>
<p>Today I received one from Karen Peterson, telling me to contact an agent who has US$1.5M waiting for me.. again to the email address I soley used to subscribe to eMusic dot com.</p>
<p>I wrote a letter of complaint to them after I received the first email from Michael Matson on the 26/11/2006, and received no reply.  I received three further emails from &#8216;Michael Matson&#8217; on 01/12/2006, 08/12/2006 and 11/12/2006.</p>
<p>I dislike companies that do not appreciate the concept of data protection, I dislike companies even more for ignoring complaints and trying to &#8217;sweep it under the carpet&#8217;.  I would be very interested to locate more people suffering Michael Matson syndrome so we can put our heads together to give eMusic the rude awakening they obviously deserve.</p>
<p>Sincerely</p>
<p>Nick Askew</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
